sunbeams and sugardrops

Pesto Planets Align

Posted on: July 30, 2009

I promised myself I’d blog more often and I’d join a gym (this was in Feb). As with so many other resolutions, I haven’t done either. But I can never be too hard on myself. While yes, I admit, laziness may have been one of the contributing factors (it would be pointless to deny it), it is one of probably 10 other far more nasty factors. So really…I understand. In fact if anything, I feel quite the martyr to my circumstances. And that’s the official party line!

My cooking isn’t going quite as well as planned as I reach home later and later every day. So most nights, its either left-overs, home-delivery dinners or eggs on toast (the best!!). But yesterday, the planets aligned in my favor. I read a recipe at Steamy Kitchen that sounded easy and refreshing. I was craving some pasta. I happened to have some basil that needed using up. My husband stash of peanuts wasn’t depleted. And I also happened to – for no real reason – have bought some coriander the night before as if guided by some other-worldly power.

In other words, I had everything I needed and a good mood to boot. This resulted in one of the nicest dinners ever. It was fresh, tingly, zesty from all the lovely herbs and the lemon juice.

72801266

It was unctuous and flavorful from the olive oil, garlic and cheese. The sauce coated the perfectly al-dente spaghetti just beautifully. And…as it’s my husband’s birthday week, I thought I’d show him how much I loved him by adding 2 things he loves and I am quite indifferent to – peanuts and peas!

My usual pasta attempts go down pretty well with A but with one constant that keeps him from rating them higher than a 7.5 on 10. No meat. But…as I was filled with all this love and other rainbows and butterflies feelings, I added some sausages and really…I know I’ve raved enough about this meal but it was just that good for me. And Him! He gave me a whopping 9.25 on 10 and loads of snuggles for the rest of the evening! Yay! I gave myself a 10 on 10 :p


Basil, Coriander and Peanut Pesto – adapted from Steamy Kitchen

2 cups loosely packed fresh basil and coriander leaves

1 tbs unsalted peanuts, dry roasted

1 tbs salted peanuts, dry roasted

2 cloves garlic

½ cup extra virgin olive oil

Juice of half a lemon

Salt and pepper to taste

½ cup grated cheese (I used regular processed cheddar and it still tasted great!!)

Onions, peas and chicken sausages for frying.

Place the basil and coriander leaves, salt & pepper, garlic, peanuts and half the olive oil in a food processor and process. Stop to scrape sides. Process further. Stir in half the remaining olive oil.

Heat a frying pan and add the remaining olive oil. Cook the onions till soft, add the sausages and cook till golden. Add peas (pre-soaked in hot water) and cook for about 2-3 minutes.

Add the pesto to this and heat through before stirring in the cheese and lemon juice.

Serve with any pasta shape cooked al-dente.

*Pest image courtesy Getty Images
3 Responses to "Pesto Planets Align"

fyi…breakdown of the A’s score would reveal credit of 0.5 to the meat and another 0.5 to the peanuts and the peas that you are so spectacularly unfair to. and admit it, you liked it all the more because of those. keep ’em coming!

you could also experiment with the pesto planet called pinenuts…some people debate about its status, but I would affirm that it is definitely a pesto planet!

maybe this will earn a bit of extra credit 🙂

cutest 🙂

Leave a Reply

