sunbeams and sugardrops

Sin

Posted on: August 26, 2005

I can’t believe how the brain can stop functioning sometimes…you know there are things you should be doing but somehow can’t pull yourself together for long enough to get anything productive done.

But its a good thing none of this is happening to me…right?

I’d like to take a few moments to purge all the negativity from inside me. The 7 deadly sins…they are deadly for a reason, both in myself and in others. So, in no particular order, the sins and how they plague my life:

Pride is excessive belief in one’s own abilities, It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity: When I see this in others, when I am around vain people, my blood boils. Its one thing to be sure of oneself and one’s abilities…another thing completely to look down on other people…for whatever reason. And I don’t even want to start on the people who can only talk/think about themselves and how brilliant they are, and how gorgeous they are and how many people they know etc etc. If these people are so awesome, maybe they should let their many qualities speak for themselves no?

Envy is the desire for others’ traits, status, abilities, or situation: This is a sin that I indulge in…more often than I would like, more involunatary than I would like. All that is required to keep this in check is a little clarity of thought but in those moments of enviousness…all I see is flashes of green. It is ugly.

Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires: Those who know me understand why I don’t even need to explain this. Lets just say…chocolate is the devil’s food.

Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body: Again…self explanatory. Except I do want to say…lust is the root of too many problems. When the object of one’s lust isn’t acquired, it leads to anger. Often when it is, it leads to vanity, and sometimes envy in others.

Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as Wrath: Another sin that I have indulged in far too often recently…especially sinful I think when loved ones bear the brunt of it. And too many times I find I let myself get carried away with my anger at people who mean less to me than a hangnail.

Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work: When I’m in these moments where I feel like I’m wrapped in silk,perfectly warm and cool and smooth, I find it hard to leave that moment to attend to more pressing matters…I’d rather remain in the voluptuousness of the moment…

Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain: Hmmm…haven’t seen much of this…but then again…we are at a business school…greed is probably the driving force of 99% of the population…no I don’t really mean that. I don’t really have much to say about this sin.

Ok so thats just one out of 7 that I dont have a problem with…YET…NOT GOOD!!!

Had a really great, sin free hour today in class though…there was an exercise in the leadership class that required us to write nice things about atleast 8 people in class. It was a magical experience because it made people think beyond what they see everyday…try and recollect observations they made 3 months back…reach out to someone they wouldn’t normally approach.If taken in the spirit it was meant, it was brilliant…

2 Responses to "Sin"

So you are human ….and so is everybody around you (well may be not everybody;-)) …
~S

And i wish you could see just how dark some of these humans are!!!

Leave a Reply

Sugar Droplets

