sunbeams and sugardrops

Posted on: July 22, 2004

Am reading The Picture of Dorian Gray. Not very far through it but am already amazed. Have read other Oscar Wilde stuff that I have loved wildly but they were comedies. This one though…it’s different. Can’t say much about it until I finish but wanted to share these from the book:

“When I like people immensely I never tell their names to anyone. It is like surrendering a part of them.”

Someone once said something similar to me and at the time it really annoyed me but now I understand it. I get how keeping something a secret makes it more delicious, more exciting.

And this:
“I find a strange pleasure in saying things to him that I know I shall be sorry for having said.”
and
“Now and then, however, he is horribly thoughtless, and seems to take a real delight in giving me pain. Then I feel…that I have given away my whole soul to someone who treats it as if it were a flower to put in his coat, a bit of decoration to charm his vanity, an ornament for a summer’s day.”

Oooh angsty goodness! πŸ™‚
Hasn’t everybody at some point felt something similar? or atleast known someone who’s been there…

Oh..and I’m just discovering how good Maroon 5 are..has anyone seen She will be loved? Both the song and the singer are beautiful…

8 Responses to ""

ooh.. i’m glad you like Dorian Grey.. and yes, she will be loved is an awesome song! I actually saw the video for the first time today.. good stuff!!

identify with the latter two quotes..but the first one..no way!when i’m in love,EVERYONE knows!:)

hehehe
Me on the other hand,I try to keep it hidden..without much success.When you talk about someone every two minutes, your friends are bound to get suspicious πŸ™‚

ah.. those quotes are nice. Perhaps it only seems like it now, and I won’t think so later, but I’ll hunt down this book at the library. The popular authors sometimes surprise you by being as good as they are πŸ™‚

they do don’t they?
I just started reading Slaughterhouse 5 and am pleasantly surprised. Lemme know what you think of Dorian Gray πŸ™‚

who am i πŸ™‚
hey
Guess who this it..and u will be thrilled shocked happy ..all at the same time.
Well have been going thru ur journal and now am finally posting my thts …well Maroon 5 have heard this band or group..can u pls name a song of thiers..anyways another song id recommend would be “Reason” by hoobstank dunno if thats the right spelling..anyways check that out too ..
and i know how it feels when u love some1 dearly and do not get the same in return 😦
Well enough for now..keep guessing olright and take care
me πŸ™‚

Re: who am i πŸ™‚
this has to be Sonali!!
and you are right. I’m thrilled! it’s about time. Now I just have to convince you to get on LJ too πŸ™‚

Re: who am i πŸ™‚
well? am i right?

Leave a Reply

Sugar Droplets

